Five Important Things I’ve Learned from My Brother

My brother, someone who has been a part of my life for eighteen years. I’m not saying we’ve had the perfect relationship, but in those eighteen years he became someone I consider irreplaceable. I may not have been able to choose who my family is, but I couldn’t ask for a better brother. He’s now a university student and he’s working hard at making his goals a reality, I have no doubt he’ll succeed. He’s someone I consider to have an intellect which transcends my own. My brother has been around for some time and he has imparted his fair share of wisdom to others and me over the years and keeping this in mind it’s worthwhile retreading the most important and enlightening lessons.

 

“When you’re living your life someone else is living theirs.”

My brother has said a chock full of things that have made their way into my brain. Some of them are funny, some of them are nonsensical and some of them are clearly thought-provoking. The above quote definitely falls into the last category. It seems so simple, but it’s its simplicity that makes it so potent. This is something I think about every day and I honestly don’t think a number of people even stop and think about it. I’m currently on my laptop at my aunt’s house dog-sitting her three dogs writing this post. My friend in Germany is probably out clubbing this very moment. My friend in South Korea is probably sleeping right now. Someone is getting married today! It’s someone’s birthday today too! This world we live in is so big and we all go through our own experiences with each passing day and learn new things. Yes, it’s unfortunate everything that happens on this planet is not positive. However, those people are living their lives too despite the pain they go through. My brother has helped me become a more understanding person and this adage is one I take to heart. It’s one of the reasons why I try to avoid saying negative things to others. I know I can’t help everyone on this planet, but I can at least help myself and those I care about. Not only that, but I can also make sure I don’t bring in more negativity because this world already has more than enough of it.

 

“Everything requires time.”

It’s another succinct thing he said. When I think about it, it really makes sense. Writing this blog post requires time. Making music requires time. Going over to my friend’s house requires time. It even took God time to make the world. It’s a little hard to wrap my mind around because I have no idea what there was before time. It’s easy to measure time now, but how did the concept come about? Questions aside, I’ve realize my lifespan is finite, NOT infinite. Therefore, I need to make sure I spend my limited time on things and people I care about. I don’t think it’s a good idea to spend my time on things and people who are no good for me or bring me nothing but anger.

 

Kid Cudi’s music is great

This was one I had to get used to. Initially, I did not like Cudi’s music and even stated I found it to be “boring”. That was around my sophomore year when I was listening to a plenitude of ignorant rap music. While I’m relieved I don’t listen to that type of music anymore, I’m glad I gave Cudi another listen. He’s helped my brother through the good and bad times of his eighth grade year and it’s frustrating I said what I said about his music since his first album could be something my ninth grade self could relate to so much. Kid Cudi is still making good music to this day and I can’t wait to hear his upcoming album.

 

Things don’t have to go according to plan

I’m usually a person who has a plan. I think plans are important, but I know life doesn’t always go as planned. That’s why I always make sure I have at least a “Plan B” just in case “Plan A” is a no-go. However, my brother is a very unique individual (and I’m not just saying it because he’s my brother). He’s had successes in his life already, but I can list some of them which didn’t happen because he had some sort of plan. It’s not like my brother is the luckiest person in the world either he’s someone who really knows what he’s doing and how to do it. I guess the best way to describe him would be “adaptive” because he seems like he can prepare for the unknown and the unknowable. Sure, it’s impossible to prepare for every single scenario, but when my brother does something, it’s like he’s prepared for anything.

 

Never stop having fun

Okay, my brother never said this in my presence, but if there’s one thing I learned from him it is this. No matter what path I take in life, I must always remember it is important to have fun. Most of the stuff I do in my life now is for my own entertainment. I want to make sure my life continues to be interesting, positive and fun because if life became dull, negative and uninteresting for me again then that’s when I stop living.

Say What's on Your Mind

