Life is the sum of all the events I encounter as I go through this weird experience. From my day to day activities to my greatest triumphs, all the things I’ve been through made me the young man I am today. Every decision I made lead me down a different road. Even the tiniest choice can have a significant impact and reverberate throughout the entire universe. While each day in itself brings various moments, there are some I remember that get me excited, happy and thrilled. This is what this post is about and below are five moments that will always have a special place in my heart. Note: I guess if I ever get married or adopt a kid I’ll update this, but I don’t think the marriage part is likely.

 

5. My First Nocturnal Emission/Lucid Dream about Senjougahara

https://secure.static.tumblr.com/109a4b56e22b07166aa9b138af98d4ab/9nrrr8m/vnunhhpii/tumblr_static_tumblr_static_4cakoxy50fswkcc08skcc4cs8_640.gif
I wrote about this particular dream in great detail so it was obviously memorable to me since I took the time to make a blog post about it. This is the most recent moment on the list happening back in late March (on my friend’s birthday lol smh). Why is this dream so important that it made the list? Well, you see I try to find meaning in the dreams I remember and this was the first time in a long time I had control of my unconscious thoughts. I remember a quote stating “A dream is a wish your heart makes”, if that’s the case then for some reason I have a desire to make passionate love to a woman who doesn’t exist. This was the first nocturnal emission I ever had and it was the most confusing because it caused intense pleasure, relaxation and arousal, but I didn’t want to accept it at first. I loved Senjougahara before since she’s an amazing character, but I can never look at her the same way ever again: just seeing pics of her, thinking about her and the dream immediately turn me on which is the silliest part of the whole thing. Being sexually attracted to moving pictures like what in the blue cheese, but at the same time it feels good to be turned on. Another thing that makes this dream life changing is I credit it with helping me kick the masturbation habit. I stopped five months before the dream happened, but now it’s been over a year so in a way I’m glad I had this dream because I already know there’s absolutely no way I can replicate the sexual feelings I had so I find no point in touching myself. Whether I like it or not (I do), Senjougahara ❤ means a lot to me now than ever before.

 

4. Getting Accepted to My Dream University

https://i0.wp.com/knightnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/widehorz55.jpg

Applying to universities was both exciting and stressful. With so many colleges and important deadlines to meet, intimidating might have been a bit of an understatement when I was going through the process. I remember all throughout high school I was interested in going to FSU, but as time went on I realized it may not be the right college for me. My parents wanted me to go to UF, but I knew why they wanted me to go (hint: it wasn’t because it’s a “good” university, or because it offered my major, or because it had a pharmacy school. it was simply because my brother went there). I made it clear I was 100% adamantly against going to UF, how can I grow as a person and become the man I’m destined to be if I’m always having to depend on someone? It was a hard decision, but the university I chose was my choice and no one had any part in it but me. This is a good thing because whether I love or hate my time there I would have no one to blame but myself, but I can always be happy and satisfied to know it was me who took this road. I applied for the summer semester and while I couldn’t know for certain whether I was accepted or not I was always optimistic and hopeful. After checking my application status daily eventually I read the word “Congratulations!” and that’s when I knew my life was going to change, I celebrated and was screaming “Yes!” like I was Daniel Bryan.

 

3. Talking to My Brother

https://bittersweettransitions.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/14917090_350x350.jpg?w=582&h=582Here on my blog I talk a lot about my brother. It’s not hard to see why though, he’s the only male family member I love and care about. One person can have a lasting effect on the way you perceive life and if there’s someone I can say has done exactly that it is my brother. The pithy statements he’s said and the deep conversations we’ve had over the years have helped make me a more understanding and compassionate human being. He’s done a lot for me and he’s doing a lot for me right now, more than I could ever do for him. Somewhere along the way of growing up, the annoying little pest grew up to be more than a gadfly of a brother, he became a true friend. It isn’t said nearly enough, but I am so proud of you brother. I am envious of the passions that you have and the way you pursue them with no fear! I am excited to see where you will go in life. Keep working hard and doing what you do, no one can fault you for following your dreams. I love you so much and I will always be your biggest supporter and your brother!

 

2. Becoming a Born Again Christian

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh,  in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit”. (Romans 8:1-4)

I’ll save my Christian testimony for another day. Y’know, I really like Shawn Michaels and Eddie Guerrero’s stories about how they became born again Christians, they kind of reflect my own. During most of my life I wasn’t religious, I felt as long as I did more good deeds than bad ones I was in pretty good shape. I knew of Him and what He did, but I never took the time to get to know who He is, what He requires and His plans for those who follow him. I always thought Jesus was an inspiring historic figure, but it became a whole different story when I accepted Him as the Son of God and my Savior. Before I made that conscious decision which changed my life, my life was anything but Christian. Battling with depression, alienating friends who have always been by my side and consuming various drugs and alcohol was not fun to say the least. Anyway, it was thanks to those who are close to me (and Charles Hamilton’s music) that I’m not buried somewhere, I realized I wasn’t thinking about anyone but myself. I was able to refocus my energy on my family, friends and spirituality and give my life the meaning it finally deserved. Inspired by my faith, I’m now able to be the very best I can be, show my appreciation for my life and those in it and genuinely be happy.

 

1. High School Graduation

http://www.nwherald.com/_internal/cimg!0/37ttx4apptme0vsoftewyskc852rwlm
My high school had a bit of a problem for my class of 2012 because there was a record high of us not on track to graduating. When my teacher mentioned it everyone’s mind was on their class rank while mine was on what the students’ parents think of their kids not graduating or if they even cared to begin with. June 1, 2012 was the big day and it was a step in the right direction for me. A fantastic way to wrap up the last 12 years of school, provided decent closure and I’m glad I did it because not everyone can say they graduated high school. What made high school graduation top this list is the people I was able to graduate with, The Kliq: Carlito, Justin, Hayley and Daniel. I thought I wanted a lot in my life, but at the end of the day the only thing I wanted more than anything was friends like them. The thought was what made me emotional as a bawled my eyes out thanking them for becoming my friends and hoping we can continue to be for many years to come. It was also the last time I would see my teachers for a long time and the only one I was able to see before I left was my math teacher! Most of my family members were there and it truly was amazing from start to finish. My friend Jaylen and his mom drove all the way from North Carolina to see my graduation and I truly appreciate them so much. The most awkward and funny part about my high school graduation was my scheduled SAT test the next morning, but I didn’t mind because nothing was going to ruin all these feelings I was experiencing. If I could replay this moment all over again I would, it is without a shadow of a doubt the most important moment in my life.

