Love Conquers All Sins: Act I, Scene II

Santoria. The palace library.

Hiram walks into the library looking for Jericho enter him to Abi.

 

Hiram
Brother?

 

Abi
*Putting books away on the second floor* Oh Hiram!? What a surprise seeing you here.

 

Hiram
You know I’m full of surprises.

 

Abi
*Jumps down to the first floor*. Hehe, I see you haven’t changed much.

 

Hiram
Having your face buried in books as usual, I can say the same thing about you.

 

Abi
It’s my job.

 

Hiram
Is my brother here?

 

Abi
Yeah, he’s in the nonfiction section, writing and reading something. How’s your training been going?

 

Hiram
Well we’re supposed to be training now! I’ve been trying to teach him a technique against the Demon King Abaddon.

 

Abi
Oh! How wonderful! Saura would be so happy!

 

Hiram
There’s just one problem…

 

Abi
What’s that?

 

Hiram
No matter how many times we try to do it he hasn’t been able to master it.

 

Abi
What do you mean “we”?

 

Hiram
The attack is so powerful that it requires two beings to be in perfect unison with each other. Whenever I lead the attack it can be done successfully, but in brother’s case the soul energy always disappears at a certain point.

 

Abi
Do you know what’s causing this to happen?

 

Hiram
Something must be missing, but I’m not sure what it is though. Brother is stronger than me so if he’s able to perfect it, the results would be far more potent. If he can get this damn technique down we’d be able to defeat the Demon King and end this war already!

 

Abi
I was wondering, where did you learn such a powerful attack?

 

Hiram
I learned it from your father after the last battle.

 

Abi
My papa! He’s always looking out for us.

 

Hiram
How has your dad been?

 

Abi
Papa’s doing well, it’s been hard for him since he had to retire early due to losing his eye and arm. But I’m still a proud daughter!

 

Hiram
Good to hear, he’s helped us out a lot and been able to keep the soldiers moral high.

 

Abi
Oh, he told me he wants to see you and Jericho today, so make sure to stop by the church whenever you can, he has something to show you two.

 

Hiram
Sounds like a plan, I’ll talk to brother and see if we can do our training over there. *Hiram starts to walk off to the nonfiction section*.

 

Abi
Do your best! I’m rooting for you two!

 

Hiram
I know, keep the faith in us Abi.

 

Hiram walks into the nonfiction section.

 

Hiram
Now where is that knucklehead?

 

Jericho
*Reading and writing*

 

Hiram
Ah! There he is! Brother!

 

Jericho
Hiram? What are you doing here?

 

Hiram
I should be asking you that! *Tries to grab Jericho* We have to train now!

 

Jericho
I know, but I had to write back to the general on a job well done. You won’t believe what happened!

 

Hiram
What?

 

Jericho
He was able to successfully defend the southern borders and his military base. Thankfully there were no casualties on his side.

 

Hiram
As expected from Abishai, that bastard. That’ll show those Demons.

 

Jericho
Well the thing is the only one who was a Demon was General Jacob.

 

Hiram
Say what?

 

Jericho
He did note the on….

 

Hiram
No, I already know about the Demon now, but what exactly was he fighting against? Aswangs?

 

Jericho
No, they weren’t, he described them as having a bold equine face and the body of a Demon, but with disproportionately long limbs, so long in fact their knees reach above their heads when they squat down to jump. They were persistent to keep on attacking even when they received mortal wounds.

 

Hiram
I thought Demons were the only ones dwelling in Infierno ever since the Aswangs were destroyed.  

 

Jericho
Apparently not anymore.

 

Hiram
So? Was he able to capture and interrogate any of them?

 

Jericho
Unfortunately no. He killed all 300 of them.

 

Hiram
Tch, I take back what I said he only enlisted to blow shit up.

 

Jericho
Relax Hiram, I’m just glad he didn’t lose any of his men.  

 

Hiram
Those Demons… what are they planning now? It’s not just the Circle anymore, but now they have some type of super soldiers doing their dirty work for them. Brother, it looks like we’re also going to have to find out what the Demons are contriving.

 

*Abi enters the scene*

 

Jericho
You’re right Hiram! Let’s get right on it!

 

Hiram
*Grabs Jericho* After we’re done with training.

 

Jericho
But that’ll just take longer!

 

*Abi attempts to get their attention*

 

Abi
Hey, listen!

 

Hiram
Well then we better hurry and start sooner than later.

 

Jericho
How about training after we do the research?

 

Abi
Guys!

 

Hiram
And by the time we’re done you’ll just make an excuse. You can’t fool me!

 

Jericho
You can read me like a book, if you actually took the time to read.

 

Abi
HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY!!!!!!!

 

Hiram
Abi! What the hell are you screaming for?

 

Abi
I had to get your attention somehow.

 

Jericho
Couldn’t you have just called us?

 

Abi
*Glares* I’ll make sure to do so next time. Anyway, I have an idea. You guys can do your training and leave the research to me! I basically live here so it would take less time to find the information you guys need. If what Abishai said is true, then I have a guess that the Demons might be using souls to make new soldiers.

 

Jericho
What makes you say that?

 

Abi
If there’s one thing every being in Santoria and Infierno have in common it’s soul energy. It’s what we all need to stay alive, it’s what makes us who we are, it’s the sustainer of life. Unless we’ve missed something, Demons are the only ones living in Infierno. Since they use the Circle to acquire souls it’s not farfetched to think they’re not just using souls to resurrect their god.

 

Hiram
Damn those Demons! Our fallen soldiers can’t even rest in peace!

 

Abi
Well, it’s just an inference.

 

Hiram
But the possibility it can be true…

 

Jericho
Yeah, I don’t even want to entertain the thought.

 

Abi
We’ll know for sure once I’m done. And Jericho!!!

 

Jericho
Yes?

 

Abi
You should listen to your brother.

 

Jericho
Huh?

 

Hiram
*Grins*

 

Abi
You don’t like violence, and I can understand where you’re coming from. But you need to be as strong as you can possibly be. I, and I’m sure everyone in the kingdom don’t want to see their future king struggling. You almost died fighting the last Demon King, who knows what tricks are up the new King’s sleeves now. You want to protect the ones you love and I support that wholeheartedly, but how are you going to do that if you aren’t at your best?

 

Hiram
I hate to admit it, but she’s right brother.

 

Abi
Hey! I’m on…

 

Jericho
Yeah, she is right.

 

Abi
I am? I mean, yes, I am. *hee hee*

 

Jericho
It’s not that I don’t want to train, it’s just that I haven’t been getting the results I want. Hiram is doing his best to teach me this new attack, but I can’t do it no matter how hard I try. It’s disheartening because if I mastered it it would be so much help.

 

Abi
I know, he told me, but you will be able to do it.

 

Hiram
How can you be so sure? We’ve tried it time and time again.

 

Abi
Because I know and you know and all of Santoria knows that no one wants to end this war more than our future king and if learning that attack will do it, he will learn it. He may not be able to grasp it today or tomorrow, or next week, but every time he trains he will become stronger and as he becomes stronger he’ll be closer to achieving it.

 

Hiram
Well, what do you want to do brother?

 

Jericho
Abi.

 

Abi
Yes?

 

Jericho
I’ll leave perusing through the books to you.

 

Hiram
Then…

 

Jericho
Let’s go Hiram.

 

Hiram
Alright! Now that’s what I’m talking about!

 

*Exit Jericho and Hiram*

 

One thought on “Love Conquers All Sins: Act I, Scene II

Say What's on Your Mind

