10 Things I No Longer Worry About

なるようになるか。

 

Even though I might be happy 24/7 to the point I question if it’s even healthy, there are times where particles of sadness and worry can seemingly come out of nowhere. However, I’m usually able to shift my focus and reset my brain. In doing so, I drop my “problems” from my mind and feel invigorated. I feel like I’m ready to take anything that comes my way. Worrying sucks. Here are some problems I found myself worrying about far too often before I discovered how to refocus. Life is too short to worry about…

 

1. Money

“Fuck bitches, get money”

Unfortunately or fortunately, I have no interest in having sex with most women, hoes or not. Oh, the lyrics were figurative not literal. I remember writing in my journal for my College Success class “money provides opportunities”.  Think about it, you need money for almost everything. You need money to buy groceries, you need money to go to Disney World, you need money to attend university, you need money to travel, etc. People do some strange things for paper and I’ll never understand why. Now, you won’t catch me saying “money doesn’t buy happiness” because people who say that have obviously never bought a puppy. Also, money can get you a jet ski and I have never seen anyone unhappy on a jet ski.

Yes, we do need it. There’s no denying that. And while I have said I want to be rich/a multimillionaire, I don’t allow the dinero to be the source of solving any of my distress. I live my life so I can reflect on the great times I had and don’t worry about spending the few dollars on those Yu-Gi-Oh! cards I really want, I just enjoy it. With that said, I make sure I have some money stashed away for a rainy day.

 

2. Death

It’s bound to happen one day. Sooner or later in my life, I’m going to have to face the inevitability of my death. I can’t stop the Grim Reaper and hiding is only going to impede me from living my life to the fullest. It’s funny really, because I almost died three times (suicide attempt, choking and falling down a high hill), but for some reason, the Grim Reaper must’ve been thinking “Naw I don’t want you yet, you good fam”. People die every day, but the fact I’m still one of the people breathing is pretty rad. I could go to sleep tonight and not wake up to see tomorrow. Even if I do wake up, there is still a chance the place I live could be nuked or a meteor could fall to Earth killing us all. Sure, the chances might be slim, but they’re still there.

I’m not going to lie, whenever the Grim Reaper starts knocking on my door, I’m going to do everything I can to make sure he does everything he can to break the door down. I’m not someone who’s going to accept death with open arms especially at this point in my life when I feel I’m destined for great things. I think I lived a wonderful life so it wouldn’t bother me too much if I were to die, but the one thing going through my head would most likely be “Damn, I thought I had at least 4 more decades”.

 

3. What People Think

“It doesn’t matter what you think!” – The Rock

It took me my sophomore year in high school to finally accomplish not caring what people thought of me. By my senior year I jumped out of the Tornado and started flying on my own ever since. I started living my life as though nobody was there. I started being me, regardless of what my friends, family, the government or the guy on the internet thought about it.

Fitting in is required in certain situations, but it’s not the end-all, be-all for every situation in life. There are times when I need to keep a low profile, but for the most part, unless I’m James Bond, I let loose and have fun, regardless of what people think. It’s my life, I live it, I love it, and I don’t care what anyone thinks of it.

 

4. The Small Stuff

Little things go wrong every day in our lives. I forgot to write my essay, a dollar short for my purchase, tripped and fell on the floor, laughed during a presentation. If I were to consider this a bad day, I’d be archiving my life the wrong way. Instead of getting frustrated by the little things, I focus on the positives. I can still pass the class, the cashier didn’t mind, I’m still able to walk, nobody is going to remember me laughing in six weeks… there are too many great things happening on a day to day basis to worry about the little annoyances.

 

5. Celebrities

I don’t keep tabs on most celebrities because I don’t care what they say or what they’re doing. There are certainly a few I do like such as Chris Tucker and I’m aware of eminent scientists, but what they’re doing doesn’t get me anywhere in life. I might be aware of their existence, but they aren’t of mine. There are plenty more going on in the world outside the lives of celebrities.

 

6. The Past

This was hard for me. Sooner or later I had to let go of my past. Instead of dwelling on it, it’s an important facet to learn from, but I shouldn’t let it get in my way and become a burden. Instead, I look ahead and get that dirt off my shoulders. *Jay-Z voice*

I made errors in my past. Even though I may look at my jewelry wearing, depressed, people pleasing past self with disgust, there’s no need to run from or be ashamed of who I am now or where I came from. I can’t let what happened distract me from my goals and vision. Gotta learn from my mistakes and stand up every time I’m knocked down. The only way I can continue being harmed by something that already happened is if I let it.

 

7. Negative People

People aren’t always going to like what I do. It’s fine as long as they don’t go out of their way to say or do some vitriolic shit (if I didn’t do anything to deserve it, of course) but there are some people who think it’s a good idea and pursue it. Despite this, I have to continue doing what I’m doing. Whether I become a worldwide celebrity and/or a Youtube personality, I’m going to tread on certain toes. See, whether you like my blog or not, I’m still going to make posts until I can’t anymore. If I stopped and stressed out every time someone said something distasteful, I’d never have accomplished anything in life. The fox doesn’t lose sleep over the opinions of sheep.

 

8. Work

While most people want to be rich so they don’t have to work, I want to become rich so I can work more. I call it the “Shane McMahon lifestyle”. I want work to be something desirable, something to look forward to, not because I have to, but I also want the option of “You know what, I don’t want to work anymore for the rest of my life”. If I’m not at work, there’s nothing to worry about. If I’m at work, it’s the time to be more productive. I may not have been crazy about any of the previous jobs I had, but work is a silly thing for me to get grumpy about.

 

9. What Can Go Wrong

I’m not going to Dairy Queen today. I could run out of gas. I could get in an accident. What if there’s a long line (lol)? What if I forget my wallet? Someone might break into my house while I’m gone. I’ll just stay home instead and do nothing about it.

If I didn’t start something because I was scared of all the things that could go wrong, then I would deserve to be unsuccessful, because I can’t be successful if I don’t know how to react when faced with adverse circumstances. No matter how well I make my plans, something can go wrong. Somethings are out of my control. Which are times it’s nice to have a Plan ‘B’ in those scenarios but even Plan ‘B’ could not go as planned.

 

10. Worrying 

It seems weird to worry about worrying, but it happens. It’s normal to worry even though I’m better off not doing it, but when I’m worrying about worrying it’s time to take a step back and breathe.

Say What's on Your Mind

