Over 800, bee-otch!

Short eulogy for Starchaser187: He might be remembered by a few people. He was always brimming with confidence, loved eating at Waffle House and Senjougahara was his waifu for some reason.

For those who need a short introduction on what Myanimelist (or MAL for short) is, it’s a haphazard anime fan site made by some fella who calls himself Xinil. The website has many useful features such as being able to keep record of the anime you’re watching, want to watch, put on hold, and dropped. You can even review the anime you’ve watched if that’s what you’re into. It’s simple to comprehend and useful to say the least. But if that’s the case, why the blue cheese did I stop using it? Easy answer to an easy question. Normally, the website wouldn’t be important enough I would feel the need to write a blog post about it, but since I spent a good three years on the forums, I decided to get this off my chest.

Note: To curtail any possible steatorrhea that may or may not occur I decided to say this… in no way does anything I say represent every single user from Myanimelist. As I used to tell people in the past, “If you’re not the offender, there’s no reason to get offended!”. 🙂

Myanimelist is dead. Well, to me it is. The cool vibes that have developed over the years have been replaced by a toxic tornado of insecure, self-loathing, cynical, depressed, socially awkward, bitter, negative assclowns with bad acne, a “misery loves company” and “crabs in a bucket” mentality. Mayne, that’s a typeful. The positive users who could discuss even the most contentious issues respectfully have all stopped posting and moved on. The inside jokes, quote towers and memes no longer mean spit. Now, the MAL community always had a number of users who are losers and suck at life, but I felt the users I liked balanced things out. I actually told a friend whom I’ve met from MAL the same thing (he stopped using the forums months before me).

I can’t lie, the forums have turned into something unrecognizable. It’s not fun anymore, just users being insecure queers. I’m trying not to come off as a Debbie downer, I’m lamenting more than anything. Because Myanimelist did mean something to me, I wouldn’t have spent over three years there if it didn’t. That’s past tense though. When I was in my last months of being active, good discussions did appear every now and then. I also had the No Fap forum game to win by ‘checking in’. But I noticed, my participation dropped to only ‘checking in’. I had no desire to argue and/or debate with users who just want to foist their personal issues from their lives onto others. That’s never what Casual Discussion or Anime Discussion were about. Or maybe they were, and I was just an optimistic fool to think otherwise. I also believe the election ruined everything. Considering how I described a number of the users, it’s only natural they would gravitate toward someone as shitty as Trump/The annoying orange and support his stupid policies.

Now at this point if I wasn’t Starchaser187 and I was reading this, I would be thinking “Haha, what a pompous ass. Who does he think he is saying people are this or that?”. My non-starchasing self would be right, but there’s only one problem. If you ever read posts from users when we do self-assessments (threads like “Do you like yourself?” or “What do you hate/dislike most about yourself?”) you’ll come to realize there’s a recurring theme of MAL users on the forums who don’t like themselves. Normally I would be empathetic ’cause I’ve been there too and there’s nothing wrong with being insecure per se, but keep in mind the way they also treat others (hint: it’s not in a friendly or welcoming manner), so it’s like they deserve all the bad things that come their way. Okay, I know not everyone can ooze confidence, high self-esteem and happiness like me, but… lmao…. I don’t know, I can’t deal. Hm, this post can actually fit in nicely with my “Dead to the World” post. Oh yeah, btw, who in the blue cheese thought of and implemented the character limit rule? Whoever did needs to get double slapped by a Wigglytuff.

Myanimelist existed before I signed up and the wheels kept turning after I left. Yes, I was only one member, but I felt I offered a positive and unique perspective on things. There’s always a possibility it will get better, but I’ll never know because I don’t plan on logging in ever again. Maybe it was natural I would eventually find myself fulfilling my forum posting needs with Deviantart. Sure, there are users on there who are strange and have strange fetishes, but I feel a better sense of community with the general encouragement, helpfulness, friendliness and cute spammy emotes. Also, we can do listing threads and no rules of character limits! FREEDOM!!!

If nothing else, Myanimelist will always have “SSJMaster vs. Xinil – A story of epic battles!“.

