Love Conquers All Sins: Act II, Scene III

Santoria. Lior’s house.


 

Guard 2: There doesn’t appear to be any sign of struggle or foul play.


 

Guard 1: That makes it even more strange. I can’t imagine Lior being defeated so easily. What do you think?


 

Guard 2:  Someone may have murdered him, but I think he could have done this to himself, given his situation.


 

Guard 1: What do you mean?


 

Guard 2: The war’s been taking a toll on all of us.


 

Guard 1: He’s always appeared to be fine as far as I know though.


 

Guard 2: Being depressed isn’t a prerequisite for suicide.


 

Guard 1: That’s true, but knowing Lior’s personality, if he felt this was something he had to do, we would have at least found a note. There is none.


 

Guard 2: You think there’s more to this?


 

Guard 1: I believe so. But I think it’d be better to get a second opinion from Master Jephthah since he’ll be arriving soon…


 

In the alleyway


 

Jephthah: *Thinking* Lior’s the latest to perish. I wish it wasn’t true. I’d like to know how and why. He’s not…

 

 

*Bump*


 

Jephthah: Oh, are you alright?


 

Seilah: Yes, I’m fine. Actually, I wanted to ask you something.


 

Jephthah: I’m sorry but I’m in a bit of a hurry.


 

Seilah: I said I wanted to ask you something. It will only take a bit of your time.


 

Jephthah: *Sigh* Fine, what do you need?


 

Seilah: Do you know where I can find this man? *hands over photograph*


 

Jephthah: Advisor Aaron? He should be at the plaza.


 

Seilah: Where is that?


 

Jephthah: You go down here toward the front of the church and just keep going left. you can’t miss it.


 

Seilah: That’s all I needed to know.


 

*Exit Seilah*


 

Jephthah: Huh? What am I doing standing around? *starts running* I’m finally here.


 

Guard 1: Ah! Master Jephthah, up here!


 

Jephthah: *Levitates into the room* Well, let me see the body. *Lifts white sheet* Good lord…


 

Guard 2: His whole torso has been blown. It looks like he concentrated his energy to take his own life, sir.


 

Jephthah: Yeah, whoever killed him wanted to make it seem like that.


 

Guard 2: Whatever do you mean, sir?


 

Jephthah: I’m saying that there’s no way he killed himself. I know him, and he would never do such a thing.


 

Guard 2: But sir, all of the evidence points to it being the only conclusion.


 

Jephthah: And I’m saying it’s not possible!


 

Guard 2:


 

Jephthah: There’s gotta be something! Have there been any witnesses?


 

Guard 1: We’ve been asking around and no one so far has come forward.


 

Jephthah: Lior is one of the happiest people I know, he would never do this.


 

Guard 1: Exactly.


 

Guard 2: There is a possibility something else is up, but the current evidence doesn’t support it, sir.


 

Jephthah: ….


 

Guard 2: I don’t want to accept it either, but…


 

Jephthah: Wait, hold that thought. Can one of you get in contact with Your Highness?


 

Guard 1: Yes sir! *Exits to other room*


 

Guard 2: If I may ask, why must you call Your Highness?  


 

Jephthah: To make sure they made it to the palace.


 

*Back to Jericho and Hiram*


 

Jericho: So how do you like your new attack?


 

Hiram: No complaints so far. Let’s just hope I’m never in a position where I have to use it.


 

Jericho: That’s true.


 

Hiram: Damn shame you didn’t learn anything new today.


 

Jericho: It’s alright. I’m still stronger than you.


 

Hiram: Hmph, keep taunting me like that, and I’ll use it on you first.

 

Jericho: I’ll be more than pre…


 

*Circulus rings*


 

Jericho: Hello?


 

Jephthah: Jericho, where are you now?


 

Jericho: We’re still heading to the palace right now. Is there something wrong?


 

Jephthah: I think it’d be best if I stay in contact with you until you make it back.


 

Jericho: That’s fine with me. Did you find any clues?


 

Jephthah: Nothing that can gives us a lead. I still think there’s more to this though.


 

Jericho: I believe so too. I just wish we could find something to prove it.


 

Hiram:


 

Jericho: Hm, what’s up, Hiram? You haven’t said anything for a bit.


 

Hiram: …  


 

Jericho: HIRAM!

 

 

Hiram: …! Sorry, I was thinking.

 

Jericho: About what?


 

Jephthah: It’s nice to try new things.


 

Hiram: Anyway, I’m feeling some strange energy.


 

Jericho: Where is it coming from?


 

Hiram: I can’t pinpoint exactly, but it’s coming from the other direction.


 

Jericho: You sure? I don’t sense anything.


 

Hiram: I’ll go and check it out to be sure.


 

Jericho: I’ll go with you.


 

Hiram: It’s fine, you go and see Abi.


 

Jericho: But…


 

Hiram: You can iron out the details when I get back. I don’t think this is something I want to ignore.


 

Jericho: Okay, you go and handle it.


 

Hiram: Thanks, bro!


 

Jericho: Stay alert!


 

Hiram: Gotcha!


 

*Exit Hiram*


 

Jericho: You heard that?


 

Jephthah: Yeah, I wonder what it was he sensed.

One thought on “Love Conquers All Sins: Act II, Scene III

Say What's on Your Mind

