20 Things I’d like to Do in My Twenties

There are things I have to do, things I have to understand and things I have to get. Some are easier than others, but the good news is they’re all within reach. I’m going to make my 20s a decade to remember!

 

1. Go to Japan

I mean, I speak Japanese so might as well right? I’ve heard Japan is a lot of fun and well worth the experience.

 

2. Travel Europe

I have a best friend who lives in Germany whom I haven’t seen in almost a decade so I’d like to do this with him. Even though I’ve already been to most of the European countries, there are some I haven’t and I think adding the element of my best friend would make my time in those countries memorable (for better or worse lol).

 

3. Become a tutor

I’ve told my brother if I don’t get a job for the summer, then I’ll apply to become a tutor in December. More specifically an Anatomy & Physiology tutor. If I can, I’d also like to become a Chemistry or Physics tutor. I know I said I want to be a science communicator and this can become my first step in doing exactly that.

 

4. Learn more languages 

If Japanese taught me anything, it taught me learning a new language is hard, but it’s highly rewarding. German and French are on my list for being fluent. Greek, Russian, Korean, Spanish and Italian are languages I just want to have working knowledge in.

 

5. Spend time with my friends 

I learned something from a recent conversation with my brother and sister. I thought it was common for people to still be friends with their friends from high school. Apparently, it is not. I’m a junior at my university and I notice life is speeding past me. As a vicenarian, some things are changing drastically. I can’t imagine things slowing down once I graduate. I plan on moving to a brand new place in this city. But no matter what happens, spending time with friends whom I care about is very important.

 

6. Do something crazy

I’ve listed some crazy stuff on my bucket list. When I bungee jump I’ll make sure to upload a video on the internet and edit it to include the song “Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1” by Kanye West.

 

7. Train for a triathlon 

Sounds fun right? I feel like I need the lungs of a horse to compete in one though.

 

8. Volunteer 

Okay, I do this now, but I want to keep doing this as long as I can. There are a spate of wonderful organizations out there who could use my time and help!

 

9. Go offline for a week

Will I be able to only use my cell phone to call/text people and keep my laptop closed for 7 days?

 

10. Take a dance class

I only know a few dance moves. 😦

 

11. Take an American road trip 

There are 50 states in this country and I’ve only been to five of them (Hawaii, Texas, Georgia, New York and Florida). It’s not often I can do something as insanely cool as road tripping across the U-S of A. It can teach me a lot about myself. I can also do what I want, when I want to. I can visit new places on my own time frame as well. And to be honest, I want to know what it’s like to stay in a hotel again lol.

 

12. Make drawings for my brother, sister and aunt.

My brother reads this blog so no spoilers. Another reason I want to draw well is because I will then be able to use my talent not only to draw for myself, but for others as well.

 

13. Start a vlog 

A vlog can be another great way to get my voice heard.

 

14. Join a team

There are plenty of adult sports teams I can join. My mind is on finding a fun dodge ball team though. I can imagine it being more intense than a Smash Bros. tournament match.

 

15. Find my own place 

I can’t live in this dorm room forever y’know. It’s a great step toward independence and being able to go all out on decorations is enough to get me excited considering I have a good amount of anime merchandise to display.

 

16. Make friends with my neighbors 

According to those Myers Briggs tests, I’m an ENFP which means I’m an extrovert by nature. I’m also sociable so I like meeting new people and making connections with them. Since most people aren’t friends with the people from their high school, I’m sure most people aren’t friends with their neighbors or even know who they are. Considering the type of property I want to live on, meeting my neighbors will be easy.

 

17. Read the letter I wrote to myself

I wrote a letter to myself when I was 18. I can’t read it until I’m 28 and I don’t remember what I wrote besides the “Dear Me”. I can tell it’ll be a nice little memoir and I’m sure I’ll be surprised what my past self had to say and what he expected out of me.

 

18. Try a different hairstyle/cut

I remember I tried an “experiment” to see if I could get an afro. I was able to, but I eventually shaved my head. Now I want to see if there are any other hairstyles I could rock. Out of respect for Prince and my waifu Senjougahara, I plan on dyeing my hair purple. It won’t be a different hairstyle, but it’ll be a great start.

 

19. Learn more astronomy

“It has been said that astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience” – Carl Sagan

While I do this on my own sometimes, I also want to take a class on the subject. Learning about space is an awesome experience. Looking up into the night sky and seeing all of the stars is humbling and makes me forget my worldly problems. This spiritual sensation only becomes more powerful once I know exactly what I’m looking at.

 

20. Stay happy

Let’s end this post on a high note. I’m sure I’ve already talked about my depression and during that time, being happy seemed like an alien concept. A lot can happen in my twenties, but I have to make sure to be able to smile through it all. Nobody is jolly or elated all the time, but I know I’m definitely more fulfilled/fortunate than others. I’m able to look at myself in the mirror and be confident to know I’m true to myself and can safely say I’m happy. So I’m going to do everything I can to make sure this state I’m in right now is a constant one.

 

 

Say What's on Your Mind

